The Chinese Actuarial Network UK (CANUK) is an independent and non-profit organisation committed to provide a networking platform and a communication channel to other Chinese actuarial associations/networks (in the rest of the world) for Chinese actuaries in the UK. It is also dedicated to advise and support Chinese students in the UK, who are interested in the profession through educational as well as social events. Email: Sina Weibo: Linkedin:

The CANUK Committee

Huayin Liu, President


Huayin is responsible for Aviva Investors’ Global Buy-and-Maintain team Pensions portfolios, delivering tailored client outcomes through portfolio construction, an active investment approach, and ESG integration.

Huayin Liu was previously the Chief Investment Officer of UNA Seguros, a Portugal based insurance group. Before joining UNA, Huayin served as a portfolio manager for RGA, managing insurance assets in the EMEA region across five different currencies: GBP, EUR, USD, SGD and ZAR. Huayin started his career working in various roles in both ALM and Investment Manager Research departments at Redington, advising UK Pension Schemes and Insurance Companies on asset allocation, manager selection and hedging strategies.

Huayin is a qualified actuary and a CFA charter holder.

Kedi Huang, Vice President

Kedi is currently a UK Chief Investment Officer with principal responsibilities of overseeing UK investment activities, and leading Group investment initiatives to ensure UK entities would benefit from these. Prior to this, he was an investment banker at Nomura, responsible for cross-asset investment, financing and balance sheet hedging deals for insurers and pension funds. Before this, he was a portfolio solution manager at LGIM, covering strategy and fund management activities for insurers and pension funds. Kedi is follow in Institute and Faculties of Actuaries, and a Certified Financial Analyst (CFA). In addition, Kedi is a Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst and a Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary. Kedi has a master degree in Mathematics (Part III) from University of Cambridge, a master degree in Actuarial Finance from Imperial College Business School, and a undergraduate degree in Mathematics with Statistics for Finance from Imperial College London.

 Yan Liu, General Adviser

Yan is a general insurance Actuary with extensive experience of pricing, reserving, capital modelling, forecasting and monitoring of both personal lines and commercial lines of all distribution channels (retail, partnership, broker, telephony, branch and internet). Work closely with the business to deliver competitive advantage through financial insights, improved modelling and actuarial analysis.

Shuyan Liang, Treasurer

Shuyan_LiangShuyan Liang is a investment actuary specialising in alternative investment assets. She’s currently working at Freehold Corporation – a start up company. Her main focus is to structure and price alternative investment assets to meet the needs of insurance companies and pension fund. Prior to that, she was with RiskFirst (another start-up), helping clients develop risk management and asset liability hedging strategies in their defined benefit pension schemes. Shuyan holds an MSc in Risk and Stochastics from London School of Economics (LSE) as well as a BA in Actuairal Science and Risk Management from Renmin University in China. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries.

Rebecca Zhang, Committee Member

Rebecca Zhang is a senior actuary with extensive experience in capital management, pricing, reinsurance and investments in Just Assurance Group specialising equity release and bulk annuities. Previously she works in advising pension schemes in Willis Towers Watson. She holds MSc in Risk and Stocastics from London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and a BA (Hons) in Actuarial Mathematics from Heriot-Watt University. Rebecca is a qualified actuary from the Institute of Actuaries.

 Brian Hu, Committee Member

Brian Hu is the Head of Product at MetLife UK, a member of the MetLife global insurance group. His area of practice is life insurance, responsible for leading product development, actuarial pricing, value optimisation, innovation and ensuring fair customer outcomes. He is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, a CFA Charterholder, and a member of the ABI Prudential Regulation Committee.

 Wei Zhen, Committee Member

Wei Zhen is a qualified Life actuary and works in the Group Model Validation team within Aviva since 2019, covering models for both Solvency II internal model and other purpose. He was also in the Aviva Group Actuarial Reporting for six years. Before Aviva, he was working in Deloitte Consultancy and HengAn Standard Life in China, with experience including pricing, IFRS/SII reporting and consultancy. Wei graduated from Nankai University and have obtained an MSc in Actuarial Science (2000-2003), he also holds a BSc in Insurance from Central University of Finance and Economics in Beijing.

Sophie Gong, Committee Member

Sophie Gong is an enthusiastic and highly motivated person who qualified as an Actuary in October 2019. She is an Actuarial consultant at KPMG. Previously she was an Assistant Manager in Demographics Assumptions and Methodology in Scottish Widows, specialised in Longevity assumptions. She has developed a strong knowledge about longevity assumptions and capital calibration. In addition, She has built up a solid understanding about pension de-risking markets, as well as life insurance industry through her time in KPMG as well as in Scottish Widows.

Chang Liu, Committee Member

Chang is an underwriting and pricing analyst at FloodFlash, providing support on pricing methodology, risk modelling, and quote management for parametric flood insurance.  Previously she worked as an exposure management analyst at Lancashire where she specialized in CAT modelling. She holds an MSc in Finance and Investment from University of Bristol. She also holds a BSc in Insurance from Southwestern University of Finance and Economics.

Ex-Committee Members

Feifei Susan Xie Maggie Stevenimage Yao_Ji_29438M 1_v2 William atong



Xie Wan (Founding Member, 2011 – 2016) Maggie Meng (Treasurer, 2013 – 2016) Feifei Zhang (Founding President 2011 – 2015) Susan Yang (Founding Member, General Secretary 2013 – 2015) Alex Yu Pei (Founding Member) Ziqi Zhu (Founding Member, China Vice President 2011 – 2013) Tony Yutian Chen (Founding Member, Newsletter Editor 2011 – 2013) Yang Yu (President 2016 – 2019) Yao Ji (Vice President 2011 – 2017) William Wu (Secretary 2016 – 2019) Atong Mu (Event and IT 2013 – 2019) Jinnan Tang (President) Yu Fan (Treasurer and IT Development) Grace Xia (Event Organisation) Jiaqi Tan (Event Organisation) Simon Yeung (Student Support) Fulin Liang (General Adviser) Haijing Wang (Founding Member, Vice President)